Oscar Fashion: The Best Dressed from the 89th Annual Academy Awards

The 89th Annual Academy Awards were held last night, and some rich creative types received gold plated statues, while other rich creative types cheered in expensive gowns.

Although we’ll be talking about the entire Oscar broadcast on Boys Don’t Like Funny Girls Podcast, I thought I’d share my favourite looks from the red carpet!

Emma Roberts in vintage Armani

Chanel Oberlin FTW.

This was my favourite black and white look of the night, with Emma Roberts giving serious Jessica Rabbit vibes with her newly dyed hair.  It’s Old Hollywood glam meets Young Hollywood It-Girl!

tumblr_om0h76webu1rqsb22o1_500
Source 

 

Viola Davis in Armani Privé

From the moment she stepped onto the red carpet last night, Viola Davis won. Head-to-toe perfection. The colour and her make-up were the best of the night. With this dress, you don’t need much fuss, and the interesting neckline was just enough to make this a timeless look.

She won on the carpet. She won on the stage. She WINS. Congratulations, Viola!

V Davis 1.jpg
Source 

 

Dakota Johnson in Gucci

Before we begin, let’s decapitate this look and completely ignore Dakota’s hair, because I know – it’s bad. It’s a little Arwen from Lord of the Rings, but still. I have to mention this dress because it’s a show stopper. It’s not for everyone, and I know people will either love it or hate it, but I thought it was a throw-back dress and beautiful. I would be sweating through the satin, but Johnson looks like a time-traveling goddess.

tumblr_om0boj50l81rfvm1mo1_1280

Amy Adams in Tom Ford

If Tom Ford told me to get a bowl cut, I would do it. That’s how much I love Tom Ford.

All Awards Season, Amy Adams has been dressed almost exclusively by Ford who directed her in Nocturnal Animals. Although she wasn’t nominated, Adams stunned in her silver gown as a presenter.  Probably my favourite look of the entire night. Yes PLEASE, Tom Ford!

tumblr_om0rlmjvrn1tid044o1_540
Source

Nicole Kidman in Armani Privé

There are very few people in Hollywood who I fan-girl for. To me, Nicole Kidman is a movie star, and I 100% believe she’s a red carpet icon. Last night might not go down as her best or most memorable look of all time, but in a sea of basic-ness she arose like a god-damn goddess. That lip and the rubies? Perfection.

nicole-kidman
Source 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

